The latest world cricket scene is abuzz with the speculation of the upcoming ICC Twenty20 2012 World Cup tournament. This is the 4th version of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup which is to begin from September 18 this year. The final match of the tournament will be taking place on October 7. The tournament would be hosted by Sri Lanka.

The International Cricket Council has already announced about the participating teams and groups of the 2012 Twenty20 World Cup. There will be altogether 12 teams participating in the present tournament who are distributed in 4 different groups. Theses groups are named Group A, Group B, Group C and Group D. Each of the 4 groups will have 3 teams included in it.

Group A comprises of the cricket stalwarts like England, India as well as Afghanistan, a relatively new addition. Group B is fixed for West Indies, Australia and the gradually rising Ireland. Group C consists of South Africa, Sri Lanka (the host country itself) and Zimbabwe. Group D displays Bangladesh, New Zealand and Pakistan. As per the policy of International Cricket Council, each of the Groups will have 3 matches between themselves. The tournament itself starts with a Group C match that will be between Sri Lanka & Zimbabwe. It’s stated to take place at Mahinda Rajapaksha International Stadium at Hambantota.

The 2012 Twenty20 World Cup Group matches are scheduled between September 18 to September 25. The top 2 teams from each of the Groups would comprise of the Super Eight Groups. The Super Eight stage will comprise of two groups- Group 1 and 2. Group 1 will have one top team from each of the previous 4 groups while the Group 2 will have the other 4 top scorers. The Super Eight group matches are fixed from September 27 to October 2 and the four finalists from this stage will qualify in the semifinals.

Group A - England, India, Afghanistan
Group B - Australia, West Indies, Ireland
Group C - Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe
Group D - Pakistan, New Zealand, Bangladesh

Super Eight (S8) Groups
Group 1 - A1, B2, C1, D2
Group 2 - A2, B1, C2, D1